Are You Proud of You? Are you Proud of Me?

Be proud of yourself and some love from me today!

Jenny Lane
12 min readOct 29, 2022

--

Art and photo by Author Jenny Lane

I worked my ass off to make my parents proud. Well, maybe not this actual ass, but you are picking up what I’m putting down. Overachievers put your hands up. I see you, and I know you’re out there working your asses off, or on (squats anyone?;) whichever you prefer.

I once asked one of my parents,

“Are you proud of me?”

And they didn’t answer but deflected and said,

“Well, you are a bit too determined.”

A bit too determined?

What the fuck does that mean? I didn’t even know what that meant. Still don’t, nor do I care to find out.

But it stuck with me. It became velcro, instead of teflon. Too determined? Were they proud, or not?

I had never heard either of my parents say they were proud of me. I had never asked, until this one time. And have never asked again.

And here I was, a woman in her thirties, well into her thirties, still asking for validation from my parents to know I had been doing “a good job” in life.

Had I done a good job in life so far?

--

--

Jenny Lane

An overthinking human who writes to make room in her mind and peace in our hearts. Art and words are my love letters to the world.