An illustration of a human walking along a cobblestone path, lined with tree beings. The night sky is a dark teal, and the moon shines yellow above, surrounded by circles of light
Art and photo by Author Jenny Lane and Aiartist in Dream 💕

Do You Want Life to Be a Comedy or a Tragedy?

The conundrum of being human in a world where our personas lead

Jenny Lane
7 min readMar 17, 2024

--

Dear Kyle Wells explains his feelings about ego: “Suddenly I hit a strange wall. The void left by the lack of ego has messed with me and I can’t help but feel like I’m drifting through the theater of the absurd. When you step outside the scenes of your life you begin to tire of the ridiculousness.

Tire of the pointless bullshit that comes out of the mouths of others. Tire of the offended, tire of the offenders, tire of the entire theater.

I know I can throw on one of my masks and play one of my parts, but I’ve reached this strange place. Sometimes I wish I were still deluded. Isn’t that funny or is it the ultra clever ego yet again messing with me. I can’t help but feel like there is something liberating on the other side of this weirdness besides a nameless faceless ball of flesh.”

~Kyle Wells (with permission of Author KW)

An illustration of a human sitting on a flower covered hill surrounded by tree beings, looking out onto a river in the middle, and a town, the sun or the moon shines brightly, depending on which you’d like it to be : )
Art and photo by Author Jenny Lane and Aiartist in Dream 💕

This human being, here as Jenny Lane, can certainly relate. Ah, welcome, my friend, you’ve entered the: “what in the world is this even stage?”

--

--

Jenny Lane

An overthinking human who writes to make room in her mind and peace in our hearts. Art and words are my love letters to the world.